Three HUD public housing properties in three corners of Oakland. 284 units, a live-in employee at every site, and $1.8 million of capital project management folded into a per-unit fee. The Authority will split the award by property, and that changes who should bid.
What the Authority is buying and where the work sits
The Oakland Housing Authority is soliciting property management, resident services and capital improvement project management for three public housing properties funded under HUD Annual Contributions Contracts. Campbell Village is 154 units for families and seniors across 19 poured-concrete walk-ups built in 1940, the Authority's first housing project. Palo Vista Gardens is 100 senior units in two elevator buildings and three bungalow groups. Adel Court is 30 senior units in a single four-story mid-rise. Together: 284 units, 22 buildings, four construction types.
This is not a leasing contract. The manager works inside the Authority's own Yardi instance, enters household data directly for MTW HUD 50058 transmission, runs to the ACOP, and acts as owner's representative on about $1.8 million of named capital projects, including a $475,000 elevator replacement at Adel Court and $700,000 of elevator repairs at Palo Vista. Performance covenants are written into the scope: vacancy under 2% every month, 98% of units lease-ready, 95% rent collection, NSPIRE scores of 90 or better, and emergency work orders closed within 24 hours.
Proposers may bid one, two or all three properties, and the Authority says it wants to award multiple contracts if feasible. Public sources identify The John Stewart Company as the current manager at all three sites. The Authority made a transition plan from the current manager a scored element of the Work Plan.
The three items that decide whether this bid pencils
The verdict and who it applies to
This fits a California affordable housing manager with active public housing authority contracts, a broker on staff, in-house compliance and capital project teams, and insurance capacity to reach a $2 million cyber limit. It does not fit a LIHTC or market-rate firm without public housing references, or a firm that would subcontract capital project management. Qualifications and Work Plan carry 60 of 100 points, and both reward exactly that experience.
It is Conditional rather than Strong for four reasons: no contract value is stated, the incumbent is large and already operating 22 Oakland properties, three resident staff units are a hiring problem money alone does not solve, and the broker license is a hard gate.
If you are a challenger without an Oakland footprint, look hard at Campbell Village alone. 154 units carry enough fee base to staff it properly, and the Authority has already said it will split the award.
Status: proposals closed September 8, 2026. The next public signals are competitive-range notices, interviews and a Board of Commissioners agenda item.
3 sites · 3 clusters · 6.34 miles maximum spread. Marker size scales with unit count.
19 concrete walk-up buildings on one city block, plus a community building and two playgrounds. Oldest stock (1940), largest site, heaviest maintenance load, and the only site with playground safety inspections. 40 hours of weekly office presence and a three-bedroom staff unit.
Two three-story elevator buildings (27 and 36 units) plus three bungalow groups. Carries the solar array, two elevators, four boilers and the Spectrum Lunch Meal Program, which requires Food Handler and Food Manager certification within three months of hire. 6.34 miles from Campbell Village, the longest leg in the portfolio.
Single four-story wood-frame mid-rise with one elevator. Closest site to the portfolio center and the natural base for a regional manager. Thinnest fee base in the solicitation, and the line most exposed to fixed-cost dilution. 20 hours of weekly office presence and a two-bedroom staff unit.
| Leg | Straight-line distance |
|---|---|
| Campbell Village to Palo Vista Gardens | 6.34 mi |
| Adel Court to Campbell Village | 4.44 mi |
| Adel Court to Palo Vista Gardens | 2.94 mi |
From the RFP as issued August 3, 2026. No addenda had been issued at the time of analysis.
| Milestone | Date | Status |
|---|---|---|
| RFP issued | Aug 3, 2026 | Past |
| Pre-proposal conference (Microsoft Teams) | Aug 11, 2026, 1:00 PM PT | Past |
| Contract clause objections due | Aug 14, 2026, 2:00 PM PT | Past |
| Questions due via Economic Engine | Aug 14, 2026, 2:00 PM PT | Past |
| Proposals due via Economic Engine | Sep 8, 2026, 2:00 PM PT | Closed |
| Interviews / competitive range | Not specified in RFP | Upcoming |
| Board of Commissioners approval | Not specified (Board meets 4th Monday monthly) | Upcoming |
| Commencement of services | Within 30 days of notice to proceed | Upcoming |
| Management Plan, Operating Budget, start-up costs, Building Operation Plan | Within 30 days of commencement | Upcoming |
| Initial term | 3 years | Upcoming |
| Option years | 2 one-year renewals, mutual agreement | Upcoming |
The date that mattered most was August 14. Contract clause objections closed 25 days before proposals were due. After that, a proposer either signs the Authority's form as written or is ineligible. HUD form clauses are never negotiable.
Mobilization is stacked. Services start within 30 days of notice to proceed, and four written plans are due 30 days after that. A new manager has roughly 60 days to stand up three sites, three live-in staff, Yardi access and a full plan set. The transition plan is scored, so the Work Plan should show that sequence week by week.
100 points, four criteria, Best Value award
The Authority awards on Best Value, not low price. Technical carries 80 of 100 points. There are no preference points of any kind: no LBE, SBE, MBE, WBE, DBE, veteran or local hire. Section 3 is a post-award labor-hours obligation (25% Section 3 workers, 5% targeted), not a bid preference.
| Criterion | What evaluators want | Points |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Qualifications & Experience | Public housing references (Exhibit J asks for five or more, including PHAs), portfolio size and unit counts, financial resources, and a compliance, HR and capital improvement team | 30 |
| 2. Staffing | Named positions for each property, resumes, job descriptions with selection criteria, and duties split across management, capital oversight and resident services | 20 |
| 3. Work Plan | Milestones in elapsed weeks, vacancy management, capital project approach, resident services, and a transition plan from the current manager | 30 |
| 4. Price | Per-unit management and bookkeeping fees for each property across five years, capital project management fees by project, and reasonableness against industry standards | 20 |
| Total | 100 |
Two things I would watch. First, the Letter of Interest asks for license numbers, organizational structure and financial viability, all Qualifications content, but it is not scored by name. Cross-reference it inside the Qualifications section so an evaluator scores it. Second, Price is scored on hourly rates, administrative fees, chargeable expenses and billing method. None of those appear on the Exhibit F cost forms. Answer them in the cost narrative or leave points on the table.
Capital project management is scored twice. It shows up in both Staffing and Work Plan, and it is paid as its own fee line against named projects. Staff it as a service line, not an accommodation.
Gates, fit and the pass signals
A mid-size to large California affordable housing manager with active PHA contracts, Yardi fluency, an in-house compliance function, a capital projects team that can write scopes and run procurement, resident services programming for seniors, and the bench to fill three live-in positions in Oakland.
Your portfolio is LIHTC or market-rate with no public housing references, you would need to subcontract capital project management, you cannot secure the broker license or the cyber limit quickly, or you cannot carry five years of fixed per-unit pricing with no escalator.
The bid decision document and the research behind it
Submit the form and both PDFs open on the next page.